Joshua Davis Photography

Icon

The Pile: Thoughts, Life, and Photography of Joshua Davis

GoDaddy Is A Ripoff

I’ve recently been growing disgusted with GoDaddy. The speed of my Drupal site has slowed significantly, their SSH is a joke with only a few available commands (at least on shared hosting).

But recently this burned me up, I was renewing seven domain names, and without my permission GoDaddy forced me to use the bulk domain registration, which supposedly would save me $1 on domains. Since my order was over $50 I was entitled to use a 20% discount, but because I already had the unrequested bulk discount I was forced to pay more money.

Currently I’m looking for a new host (hopefully I can get $10/month for a couple dozen gigabytes of space) , so any recomendations would be appreciated.

Filed under: Technology, , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Gyuri says:

    Check out HotDrupal.com, they’re a host in Asheville, NC focused on Drupal hosting. I’ve heard nothing but good things and am currently in the process of moving my Drupal sites over to them (after I’ve had some issues on site5).

  2. Josh says:

    Thanks for the info… I might just switch soon.

Leave a Reply

